Comments on: X3: Terran Conflict Review http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/x3-terran-conflict-review/ Independent PC Game Reviews & Guides Mon, 14 Aug 2017 03:31:00 +0000 hourly 1 By: Nordzikas http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/x3-terran-conflict-review/#comment-1684 Mon, 16 Jul 2012 21:56:03 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=1111#comment-1684 And about that there are many sectors … believe me – nothing special they are all the same : stations, ships, gates and asteroids.
Of course if you’re first time playing it may be interesting to explore the map.

]]>
By: Nordzikas http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/x3-terran-conflict-review/#comment-1683 Mon, 16 Jul 2012 21:48:25 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=1111#comment-1683 The review is too positive … must … say … something … negative … :D

1) To be honest i mised the cockpit view – this is really annoying (when you can’t feel that you’re in the spaceship).

2) Also i missed a tutorial (after x2 i jumped into this one and i had no idea what the controls are)

3) It kinda gets annoying too, when you can see a “Black See” on almost every planet’s surface. You probably don’t have a clue what i’m talking about … so here is some data to have clue http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Black_Sea

4) Limitless antimater again (reactors keep on using it for ever) i hate that becouse it makes no sense.

5) Plasma weapons again (to fire a plasma ball you must to have some matter that you could turn into plasma) … again you can shoot out 500 cubic meters of matter, when your ship’s volume is 10 cubic meters … ( what the …???!)

6) Unrealistic speeds (i was like … people that live in the year 3000 can’t build a spaceship that could go faster than 300 meters per second?!!! Even F-15 Eagle can go faster when it’s being affected by friction (and also uses way more primitive and less effective energy source)

7) Those who played x2 may have noticed that capital ships got way slower (arround 5 to 6 times depending on ship). And if you think that it’s mass that matters … so i can tell you too things
(1)mass can affect acceleration but not velocity (with exeption when start talking about 0,5c 0,7c 0,9c or the speed of light itself)
(2)What’s the point of building a city size capital ship, when the max personal is arround 10 people ( take a look at hoe many windows it has)

8) Can’t dock at my ship (i tried it only with my terran osaka so i can’t be sure about that all ships (M2) can’t carry fighters)

9) It’s complicated to equip your capital ship AGAIN … waht i mean is tha you can have 50000000000 of money and buy 10000 of capital ships but the real deal is in equiping them … god this thing is a real time-eater … (but from the possitive angle i managed to annihilate 3 xenon sectors (and then i got bored of doing that) with 3 powerfull weapons 7 medium poer weapond and 6 weak weapons (empcs).

10) And yeah … combat was too easy when fighting against small ships like M3 … too easy? why? Probably becouse AI’s really suck (they are stupid) and i was able to take more than 50% of capital ship’s shields with my M3 fighter (well it had EMPCs but still it’s way too easy)
But despite all my negative feedback i really liked the variety of everything (except realism, which wasn’t included into the game) i also liked colourful graphics and the fact that there are many races and everything … but common this game is only TRADE SPACE SIMULATOR becouse combat here requires no skill … to see what i mean try out evochron mercenary (and select combat pilot role otherwise you will have a transport vessel instead of fighter … and it also will take time to find the fight)

Btw i don’t care if you rate this comment at either bad and good score … so don’t bother.

]]>
By: DrAT http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/x3-terran-conflict-review/#comment-1682 Mon, 09 May 2011 07:16:57 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=1111#comment-1682 I thought ‘bullets’ going through stations was down to their being a lot of empty space between components ;-)
I’ve played a lot and seen few bugs. I’m not very good at the game though, especially combat, so I avoid fighting and perhaps most of the game’s issues at the same time.

]]>
By: TTD http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/x3-terran-conflict-review/#comment-1681 Wed, 19 Jan 2011 23:33:21 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=1111#comment-1681 Good review.

yes there are some bugs.
Any game critical bugs are usually worked on by the Devs asap.
eg rig crash bug when doing the BoP plot is being worked on for the 3.1 patch.
other bugs are often used by players for game advantages.
eg Cloning missiles.

AI is not perfect,but if you can do a better job,do it and show Egosoft how you did it,or release it as a mod or script for the rest of the community to try out.
I have played X games since X2 was released.
TC since version 2.0…and ranked up 9th position in time spent,before I stopped uploading my stats.

]]>
By: Evil Tactician http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/x3-terran-conflict-review/#comment-1680 Wed, 19 Jan 2011 22:30:48 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=1111#comment-1680 @ezra: 2x Mistral Super Freighter should do the job (1 does the job for most missions) – 5 minutes can be made quite easily with jumpdrives. (Especially on an energy cell run)

Plenty of time to jump to a sector with a solar power plant – buy/transfer energy cells, jump to the intended station, and sorted.

I’ve had missions with 3 minutes – and even those are doable if the stations aren’t too far from the jumpgate.

]]>
By: EJ http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/x3-terran-conflict-review/#comment-1679 Wed, 19 Jan 2011 20:40:06 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=1111#comment-1679 As for whether I’ve played it, I’ve also clocked 100+ hours on steam… and several years before steam. Don’t mess with EmperorJon. >:| Your lies shall not be believed!

]]>
By: ezra http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/x3-terran-conflict-review/#comment-1678 Wed, 19 Jan 2011 19:59:56 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=1111#comment-1678 Well, if you want any freighter get that amount of ecells and get them to destination in 5 minutes, thats not possible.

If you do have freighters with that amount of e-cells flying around, well it might, btw, which freighters? Maybe my problem is I never tried to full load one with that amounts, so I can’t say if it is even possible to fill them with the quantities I have been asked many times. And when I say e-cells I also refer to ridiculous amounts of delexian wheat etc. My point is those missions are not worth to try and most seem impossible, others may think different.

But anyways, I respect all your opinions and I could be wrong (although like I said I played this to death).

There have been tones and tones of threads mentioning the same issues.

About EJ comment, really you haven’t played the game ;P (hehehehe, saying a wingman never hit him makes me laugh really, such exagerated is the dumb ai in the game).

And I repeat once again, the game is awesome, I love it, hardly any other game will give you such huge amount of time, just that some basic features are bugged and will never be fixed, like the AI which can’t stay in formation and crashes.

]]>
By: Evil Tactician http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/x3-terran-conflict-review/#comment-1677 Wed, 19 Jan 2011 19:39:11 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=1111#comment-1677 A capital colliding with it’s target can even be seen on the gameplay video I chucked into our YouTube channel – so ezra is right about that one.

Other than that I don’t agree at all with his statements. @ezra; I’ve got 142 hours clocked on Steam on it, so I’ve certainly played it. (I also own a retail copy, which I’ve used a lot more when X3 first came out). In regards to 20,000 energy cells in 5 minutes: this is actually very easy if you have some freighters with jump drives handy? I mean it’s not intended for you to be able to complete every single mission you are offered in your current ship or without assistance from the rest of your assets.

]]>
By: EJ http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/x3-terran-conflict-review/#comment-1676 Wed, 19 Jan 2011 18:56:35 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=1111#comment-1676 Never had a wingman hit me. Had them hit stations and capitals occasionally, but never me. Never had a capital collide with it’s target. Never had a mission that’s ‘impossbile’ time-frame wise, just requiring a kestrel and a jumpdrive. I agree there are problems, but every game has problems. Saying Ego bit off more than they could chew is a little crazy, especially considering TC is basically built on the same engine as R.

]]>
By: ezra http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/x3-terran-conflict-review/#comment-1675 Wed, 19 Jan 2011 18:45:50 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=1111#comment-1675 my bad, my nick in egosoft forums is ezra-r , not ezra-s :P

]]>