Comments on: Spelunky Review http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/spelunky-review/ Independent PC Game Reviews & Guides Mon, 14 Aug 2017 03:31:00 +0000 hourly 1 By: nikhil http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/spelunky-review/#comment-1509 Tue, 08 Nov 2011 06:24:39 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=501#comment-1509 you have to take the statue in the lava down the rocks

]]>
By: Aevin http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/spelunky-review/#comment-1508 Thu, 08 Sep 2011 09:09:50 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=501#comment-1508 I have completed till the 15th level but at the last stage there comes a stone like thing which cannot be broken and we cannot complete the game,does anybody know how to kill that thing and complete the game.

]]>
By: Zyle http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/spelunky-review/#comment-1507 Wed, 24 Nov 2010 14:24:50 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=501#comment-1507 Mmm yeah, perhaps I should have omitted that. It’s really hard to review this kind of game without mentioning a few of its features. I tried to leave out the stuff which really surprised me or made me laugh as I played!

]]>
By: Pinky http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/spelunky-review/#comment-1506 Wed, 24 Nov 2010 03:41:01 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=501#comment-1506 Great review, but I I still think you spoil a bit much towards the end about the tunneling guy, but the game has been out for a long time.

I played it a bit a while ago and it was my go-to game for a few weeks. I don’t think I ever made it past Level 3, but I had a blast playing it.

]]>
By: ererg http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/spelunky-review/#comment-1505 Tue, 23 Nov 2010 13:52:53 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=501#comment-1505 All shopkeepers kill you if you misbehave.

To get to the black market get the Udjat Eye by opening a big chest in level 2-4 with a key. (key and chest are on the same level)
The entrance to the market is somewhere in the jungle levels. The udjat eye will blink if its on the level. If it blinks fast, you are close to the entrance (the entrance is always buried.)

BTW the easiest way to win the game is to kill shopkeepers. the easiest way is:
If you pick up an item in the shop and walk around with it, the shopkeeper will follow you. Get the shopkeeper to the entrance to its shop, then drop the item. (do not bring it out of the shop, or he will kill you) Then go a bit above the shop level, and drop a bomb on the shopkeeper, he will die if he gets caught in the explosion. Loot the shop+take his gun. Or if you are lucky he sells a shotgun and shoot him point blank range. Now every shopkeeper will hunt you and one will spawn at the end of every level, but you will have tons of items, and the best weapon (shotgun)
If possible sacrifice shopkeeper corpses at altars (and damsels too), so you can get Kapala. This item will give you HP, if you collect blood in it, its much better than getting damsels to the exit.

]]>
By: Evil Tactician http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/spelunky-review/#comment-1504 Tue, 23 Nov 2010 12:06:45 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=501#comment-1504 Is that the fabled marketplace where shopkeepers can kill you if you misbehave? (I haven’t played this but read quite a few articles about Spelunky by now)

]]>
By: frags http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/spelunky-review/#comment-1503 Tue, 23 Nov 2010 09:48:31 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=501#comment-1503 Oh yeah, btw the version you’re playing is made a lot easier. Things costs a lot cheaper now. When spelunky was first released, the items in the shops cost a bomb. It was almost impossible to collect enough money to buy jetpacks(probably cost 100,000 more). At least it’s doable now. Which makes the game a lot easier now.

The key to Spelunky is a soft landing. Once you’ve got a cape or jetpack, you can get through the game as long as your’re careful. And always keep spare ropes and bombs. Random level generation can be nasty sometimes and you find yourself trapped in a ditch.

And on the Jungle level, there is a secret level. To get to the entrance of the secret level, you have to bomb out the ground(it’s hidden underneath all the earth). The secret level houses all the different type of shops you can find in Spelunky in that one level.

]]>
By: Zyle http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/spelunky-review/#comment-1502 Tue, 23 Nov 2010 09:37:34 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=501#comment-1502 WINS?! I’m on about attempt 400 and I’ve yet to see level 6! ;-)

]]>
By: frags http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/spelunky-review/#comment-1501 Tue, 23 Nov 2010 06:22:55 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=501#comment-1501 My confort game. I know, the frustration and cursing this game causes, it’s hard to call it a comfort game. But I come back to it every time. I think I’ve played it about more than a thousand times with only 5 wins.

]]>
By: Evil Tactician http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/spelunky-review/#comment-1500 Mon, 22 Nov 2010 21:40:03 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=501#comment-1500 This game is interesting. If I had not read this, I would have thought you hated it – given the amount of cursing that comes from your general direction when you are playing it.

]]>