Comments on: Sins of a Solar Empire: Rebellion Review http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/sins-of-a-solar-empire-rebellion-review/ Independent PC Game Reviews & Guides Mon, 14 Aug 2017 03:31:00 +0000 hourly 1 By: Evil Tactician http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/sins-of-a-solar-empire-rebellion-review/#comment-2107 Thu, 13 Mar 2014 19:08:00 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=5493#comment-2107 Now there’s a decent game. It did have it’s flaws, but the combat system was a lot of fun. There was a remake a while back but they got issues with copyright and stripped out all references to Star Trek, dropping the general interest in it to a point where I’m not sure they ever finished.

]]>
By: Gary Thwaites http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/sins-of-a-solar-empire-rebellion-review/#comment-2106 Thu, 13 Mar 2014 08:06:00 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=5493#comment-2106 It’s called “Birth of the Federation” :)

]]>
By: Gary Thwaites http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/sins-of-a-solar-empire-rebellion-review/#comment-2102 Wed, 12 Mar 2014 15:28:00 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=5493#comment-2102 For a person who loves in depth gameplay I thought you would like this more. The tech tree is pretty simple really. It is broken down into section and sub sections. Military and Defence then Industrial and Diplomacy basically. Then the last one is supplies to increase your fleets and capitals. They are then basically in tiers. So for every civic or military station you build gives you a new tier in the tree. It may look daunting to start with but it is pretty simple once you get into it.

]]>
By: Gary Thwaites http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/sins-of-a-solar-empire-rebellion-review/#comment-2101 Wed, 12 Mar 2014 15:24:00 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=5493#comment-2101 That is a very good shout, some new systems struggle to run it but I think I got it running once with minimal tweaking. Would be good to run a comparison against the remakes Gearbox are doing.

]]>
By: Evil Tactician http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/sins-of-a-solar-empire-rebellion-review/#comment-2099 Tue, 11 Mar 2014 23:12:00 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=5493#comment-2099 I’ve tried playing it but never really got into it – or had issues running it. Agree though, it’s a game that would be well suited for a review on the site.

But hey, if you’re a fan and you’re up for it – why not submit a review? If you’re a decent writer, we’re more than happy to publish it. That’s how we’ve found most people in our current team!

]]>
By: Skulb http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/sins-of-a-solar-empire-rebellion-review/#comment-2097 Tue, 11 Mar 2014 22:31:00 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=5493#comment-2097 I noticed you haven`t done reviews of Homeword on the site. If you`re still doing retro reviews I think you should, since it`s still my personal favorite RTS after all this time. And if you managed to miss it the first time around you owe it to yourself to play it, even if you don`t want to review it:)

]]>
By: Evil Tactician http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/sins-of-a-solar-empire-rebellion-review/#comment-2095 Tue, 11 Mar 2014 13:59:00 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=5493#comment-2095 I tried. I totally didn’t get it and ended up just spamming units / throwing it at the enemy (and still win that way). I don’t know, the tech trees in SINS always struck me as a bit odd / difficult to use.

It’s like it wants to throw massive depth at you but then doesn’t give you time to explore said depth.

]]>
By: Gary Thwaites http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/sins-of-a-solar-empire-rebellion-review/#comment-2094 Tue, 11 Mar 2014 13:42:00 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=5493#comment-2094 Nah, just play it more. You beat me at Civ V I beat you at this. Is only fair :)

]]>
By: Evil Tactician http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/sins-of-a-solar-empire-rebellion-review/#comment-2093 Mon, 10 Mar 2014 19:04:00 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=5493#comment-2093 Ah, those pretty pictures. If only I was any good at this game.

We need a turn-based version of SINS!

]]>