Comments on: Planescape: Torment Review http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/planescape-torment-review/ Independent PC Game Reviews & Guides Mon, 14 Aug 2017 03:31:00 +0000 hourly 1 By: Bob K http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/planescape-torment-review/#comment-2205 Mon, 14 Apr 2014 14:20:00 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=366#comment-2205 Thanks – I’d seen little blurbs about that from Torment google searches, but I just assumed it was a pipe dream that was never going to happen. Pretty exciting to see that this is the real deal!

]]>
By: Evil Tactician http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/planescape-torment-review/#comment-2204 Mon, 14 Apr 2014 11:57:00 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=366#comment-2204 I’d recommend checking out Torment: Tides of Numenera, as it is exactly what you’re looking for. You’re not the only one with this desire, which is why the developers picked up $4,188,927 with their Kickstarter campaign.

We’re going through a pretty golden time for nostalgic gamers right now. :-)

]]>
By: Bob K http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/planescape-torment-review/#comment-2203 Mon, 14 Apr 2014 01:40:00 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=366#comment-2203 Thanks. I’m doing that now. It is definitely much better now, though I’d still prefer total turn based combat. Don’t get me wrong – this is a great game and I’m glad I stumbled upon it. Hard to believe it is almost 15 years old – I’d rather play this game than most modern games. I wish they still made games like this.

]]>
By: Evil Tactician http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/planescape-torment-review/#comment-2195 Sun, 13 Apr 2014 09:46:00 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=366#comment-2195 The game was released in an era where it was widely accepted that one would pause in such combat. Whilst it is real-time – the engine behind it handles everything in turns, with dice rolls, as a ‘real’ D&D game would.

Pause a lot, issue orders and make liberal use of the auto-pause settings. Without that, you’ll struggle.

]]>
By: Bob K http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/planescape-torment-review/#comment-2194 Sun, 13 Apr 2014 04:13:00 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=366#comment-2194 I’m playing Torment for the first time right now and it is frustrating me (trying to manage 6 characters fighting in real time is a major PITA – I came across this article searching for how to better handle the characters). I think Arcanum was a similar but much better game in most ways (Torment has more creative characters, but other than that, I think Arcanum is better).

]]>
By: Zas http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/planescape-torment-review/#comment-1488 Mon, 09 Apr 2012 13:20:01 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=366#comment-1488 What can change the nature of a man?

]]>
By: Alratan http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/planescape-torment-review/#comment-1487 Mon, 01 Nov 2010 19:58:07 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=366#comment-1487 Very true, the wording was unclear before. Altered!

]]>
By: Matt Walalce http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/planescape-torment-review/#comment-1486 Mon, 01 Nov 2010 19:25:11 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=366#comment-1486 Note that it was not a “Bioware Offering” – it used Bioware’s infinity engine under license, but otherwise Planescape was entirely the product of Black Isle studios. (Black Isle also published the Baldur’s Gate games for Bioware, was a divison of Interplay. Interplay was acquired by Infogrames, and Infogrames renamed itself to Atari after buying the dregs of the “Atari” assets, mostly for the name.)

]]>
By: Alratan http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/planescape-torment-review/#comment-1485 Mon, 01 Nov 2010 18:45:27 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=366#comment-1485 I can understand that – it’s definitely a very different style of RPG than Oblivion. You could try dipping into Dragon Age: Origins as a stepping stone, as that has a far more tactical/party-orientated style, and then going onto Planescape: Torment afterwards.

]]>
By: Silvade http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/planescape-torment-review/#comment-1484 Mon, 01 Nov 2010 17:30:35 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=366#comment-1484 Brilliant review, I understand how Planescape is the best RPG ever. But I just can’t get used to the gameplay, I guess it’s because my first RPG was Oblivion. I tried it once, but couldn’t stand the gameplay, I might someday give it a second chance and hopefully I will fall in love with it just like I did with Fallout 2 and 1.

But one thing I have no doubt, when people says that Planescape story is the best, I believe them :)

]]>