Comments on: Minecraft Review http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/minecraft-review/ Independent PC Game Reviews & Guides Mon, 14 Aug 2017 03:31:00 +0000 hourly 1 By: Evil Tactician http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/minecraft-review/#comment-1397 Sun, 03 Oct 2010 11:15:32 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=139#comment-1397 This game should come with a warning label: It is *incredibly* addictive.

]]>
By: Zyle http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/minecraft-review/#comment-1396 Mon, 20 Sep 2010 14:54:46 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=139#comment-1396 So we (ET and I) had a play around with Minecraft yesterday and my god, I can see why this game is so addictive. Once survival mode works in multiplayer and some of the bugs are ironed out, this game is going to be truly fantastic. I can’t wait for development progress!

]]>
By: Evil Tactician http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/minecraft-review/#comment-1395 Sat, 18 Sep 2010 17:47:36 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=139#comment-1395 I’ve just bought Minecraft and am downloading it now.

It’s all your fault and I solely blame you for the black hole this will cause in my real life.

]]>
By: LadyJa http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/minecraft-review/#comment-1394 Sat, 18 Sep 2010 08:14:44 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=139#comment-1394 Great review, I’ve been wondering what this game is about for a while now and this explains it a bit better than the game’s own website does. Thank you.

]]>
By: Dercen D. Zhang (Jolkanin) http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/minecraft-review/#comment-1393 Wed, 15 Sep 2010 13:09:01 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=139#comment-1393 There’s only one reason why I’m utterly addicted to this game: How many other games let you build a mansion w/ a farm on the roof, on top of 3 floating, gigantic trees? How many other games let you recreate the Tokyo Tower using only glass? How many games let you design your own roller coaster AND dungeon at the same time? Not much.

]]>
By: Rob http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/minecraft-review/#comment-1392 Sun, 12 Sep 2010 19:06:28 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=139#comment-1392 Minecraft is this…

* 33% creative sandbox
* 33% exploration
* 33% survival horror

You start in a randomly generated world. The world continues to generate further as you move about… up to several times the size of earth (to scale). You start with nothing at your spawn point. So build up some supplies, and get safe before night falls.

Monsters spawn wherever it is dark — whether in unlit caves, your own unlit home (illuminate it!), or about anywhere in the world when it’s dark outside. When day breaks, the undead will burn, but other monsters such as spiders and creepers will still roam about. You can’t entirely avoid confrontation, as monsters drop helpful crafting materials. There’s also peaceful cows, chickens, pigs.

Explore. Build. Find new treasures. Create new things… whether new weapons, armor, tools, a jukebox, boats, a powered railway system, food, a spectacular for, mine shafts that plumb the center of the earth… there’s about 100 recipes so far, with more being added constantly. Updates are nearly every Friday.

Multiplayer is what’s receiving a lot of focus now.

X had an excellent Let’s Play series on Youtube with over 200,000 views: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4bh4EexJO4I

The game is what you want it to be. Regardless, everyone I know who’s played it has been hooked. 100,000+ people have bought this in 6 weeks for a reason!

]]>
By: Zyle http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/minecraft-review/#comment-1391 Sat, 11 Sep 2010 22:47:03 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=139#comment-1391 @Evil Tactician: Yeah that’s why I was wondering if it’s comparable – if Minecraft is like DF but without such a ridiculous level of complexity, I’ll love it. DF is awesome, but just stunningly hardcore. I never fully got into it because I didn’t have time to learn it properly!

]]>
By: Evil Tactician http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/minecraft-review/#comment-1390 Sat, 11 Sep 2010 22:41:14 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=139#comment-1390 Dwarf Fortress is really, really, really complex. I had to watch a series of 40 video tutorials *and* a written tutorial to even get a basic fortress going.

Great fun but I don’t have that kind of time these days just to understand a game. If Dwarf Fortress ever gets an easier UI it could be the most successful game on the planet.

]]>
By: Brandon Carr http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/minecraft-review/#comment-1389 Sat, 11 Sep 2010 22:40:54 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=139#comment-1389 @Marc D

Minecraft has enormous replay value. Each time you start a new game, you have an endless number of possibilities. You could explore, build forts, go spelunking, fight your way through the mobs.

I think this series of videos will give you the idea of how Minecraft is so diverse.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ANgI2o_Jinc&feature=fvwk

]]>
By: Brandon Carr http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/minecraft-review/#comment-1388 Sat, 11 Sep 2010 22:36:41 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=139#comment-1388 @Zyle

I’ve heard that they both share similar qualities, but I have never played Dwarf Fortress, so I can’t say for sure.

]]>