Comments on: Dragon Age: Origins Review http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/dragon-age-origins-review/ Independent PC Game Reviews & Guides Mon, 14 Aug 2017 03:31:00 +0000 hourly 1 By: Trebs http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/dragon-age-origins-review/#comment-1532 Tue, 09 Nov 2010 03:46:51 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=560#comment-1532 Yeah, Gulliver Foyle, yeah, i’m a troll for having an opinion that is different from yours. Keep fighting the good fight against trolls, bro. Best way to silence those that have a different opinion of yours by calling them a troll, very mature.

Try the RPGcodex’s review of the game. Its quite a good second opinion.

http://www.rpgcodex.net/content.php?id=197

]]>
By: Evil Tactician http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/dragon-age-origins-review/#comment-1531 Mon, 08 Nov 2010 18:23:29 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=560#comment-1531 @Gulliver – We proofread all content at least by 1 seperate person. Sometimes 2. It is quite easy however for mistakes to slip through, especially as the ‘style’ of the author must be preserved. If you find major errors just let us know and we’ll correct accordingly!

]]>
By: Gulliver Foyle http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/dragon-age-origins-review/#comment-1530 Mon, 08 Nov 2010 15:51:21 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=560#comment-1530 Points:
1. Trebs = Troll.
’nuff said.

2. Still on my first play-through, but am enjoying it immensely.

3. Concur with the authour of this review (Alratan) regarding the lack of voicing of the main character. I, too, was spoiled by Mass Effect.

4. The authour (or webmaster/mistress) needs a proofreader.

]]>
By: Evil Tactician http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/dragon-age-origins-review/#comment-1529 Mon, 08 Nov 2010 10:02:29 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=560#comment-1529 Trebs, if you compare Dragon Age: Origins to other RPGs on the market, it stands head and shoulders above most. For people who loved Baldur’s Gate and the other infinity engine RPGs, it’s the closest thing to a modern version of such games as we’re most likely going to get.

Personally, I love it – and there’s enough content in the game to keep you busy for quite some time. Measuring it against other things on the market is really the only fair thing that can be done. So how would you rate the game? You could always write and submit what we call a “Second Opinion”. If it’s well written/constructed – we don’t shy away from posting such a thing :-)

]]>
By: Trebs http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/dragon-age-origins-review/#comment-1528 Sun, 07 Nov 2010 17:36:10 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=560#comment-1528 Yeah, having companion approval at 0(neutral) then say the right answers(in conversations, its quite odvious as to what they like and dislike to hear) in the space of 5 mins and you’ll get an approvalrating of 40+(friendship), totally what happens in rl. Some ”companions” aren’t even your friends, they just follow you as a means for what they desire(penetance or selfish desires). You can also buy these gifts. Damn fine camaraderie there, soldiers.

Oghren is supposed to be the most depressing character in the game because he murdered a fellow dwarf in a drunken fight(he shows regret) then stripped of his ability to fight(he was a member of the warrior caste) as a punishment. Oh yeah, his wife left him in pursuit of a near forgotten relic of power. Now he drinks himself to death, yeah that is pretty funny isn’t it?

Lelliana’s song not embarassing? You find the lip sync of that scene to be fine and totally not out of sync? The lip sync of that song is so bad that I actually remembered it, it doesn’t even look like she is singing it!

Also about the difficulty, the most difficult setting should make the game challenging not be the only difficulty setting where there is a challenge. Filler fights are fillers no matter what you call them, facing constant mobs that made no challenge whatsoever make the game boring. Kinda like WoW, except you don’t have to pay a subsricption for this.

Overrated because it’s decent whilst its praised as the second coming. Then again, it is like the equivalent of finding a flake of gold in a node of fools gold, maybe thats why its praised so heavily, either that or EA(owned by an ex-coca-cola CEO)/Rupert Murdoch the amoral billionaire media tyrant(he owns fox news, the Times, the sun, Ign and Gamespot) has something to do with the scores?

]]>
By: Teronfel http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/dragon-age-origins-review/#comment-1527 Sun, 07 Nov 2010 12:27:21 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=560#comment-1527 I really enjoyed DAO.It’s not perfect,it has some problems but you don’t notice them the first timeyou play it because the devellopers did a great job.I love the characters and the interaction with them.Yeah,I know,there are lots of cliches but most of the dialogues are very well written.I can’t remember many games with such good dialogues.

@Trebs Define what you mean by overrated.You think it’s not the “game of the year”(2009),the “rpg of the year” or you mean those people that said DAO it’s “the game of the decade” or the “best rpg ever”

In my opinion DAO was the game of the year and the best rpg of the year and one of the best(let’s say in top ten)rpg ever made.

]]>
By: Alratan http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/dragon-age-origins-review/#comment-1526 Sun, 07 Nov 2010 09:09:18 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=560#comment-1526 I’m not sure why you think that Ohgren is ‘supposed to be the most depressing character’. Ohgren does have his share of depressing aspects, but he mostly gets over (until Awakening rolls back around) once you complete his story arc, and it made perfect sense to me.

I think the gifts part is valid to an extent, but remember that many of the gifts are very relevant to the NPC, as you are demonstrating that you have listened to the character and remember what things they like. It’s not just the gift part, but the fact that you *remembered*. Most people will tend to think highly when other people spend effort in remembering their likes and dislikes. Plus, these aren’t necessarily co-workers who you barely know, but people you are fighting for your lives alongside. Presumably some degree of camaraderie comes along with that, much more so than working in an office. Finally, part of the creepiness in real life would come from someone deliberately going to a shop, finding the item and buying it for you, which shows an awful lot of planning and thought which might be seen as creepy. In game, you simply find an item lying about by chance (often by looting it) and giving it to the person you think would like it the most. Hardly creepy.

Additionally, I didn’t find the singing (from Leliana, if I remember correctly) embarrassing in the slightest – why would it be? Ditto with robotic movements.

Bioware have never gone out of their way to make games bang-head-against-wall difficult, so that’s not really a surprise. I don’t think bang-head-against-wall difficulty is really a marker for a good game though, but that’s definitely a matter of opinion. I also never felt that there were deliberate filler fights, as it pretty much always made sense that there were monsters in a particular area – would you expect to wander through some long-lost halls filled with darkspawn and not find darkspawn? Plus, I enjoyed the combat in Dragon Age: Origins, so it never really bothered me that I was having to engage in combat. If you found combat itself boring, it is no wonder that you disliked the game.

]]>
By: Trebs http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/dragon-age-origins-review/#comment-1525 Sun, 07 Nov 2010 01:30:05 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=560#comment-1525 This game is overrated, like all Bioware games(that doesn’t mean it’s bad). The npc characters are somewhat inconsistent, take Oghren for example, he is supposed to be the most depressing character(if you actually ‘talk’ to him in the game) in the game and he ends up being a slap-stick drunk with typical drunk jokes. Great Bioware, great presentation of depressed drunks.

Or NPC reactions to you, I can understand Oghren liking you for giving him beer but giving the right amount of gifts to other characters can make them like you in an instant (wouldn’t that be creepy in rl? some co-worker of yours, one you barely know, starts giving you stuff you like). Speaking of Npc voice acting, there is a an awfully embarassing moment when one of them sings to you. Don’t even mention the robotix movement which makes it hard to take npcs seriously

The game is laughbly easy as well, ”Nightmare mode”(the X-TREME difficulty) is the only difficulty where you’ll get a moderate challenge also the game seems to rely on 70% filler fights to make the game longer. If you removed the pointless filler fights, you’d get an experience about as long as Mass effect 2.

As I said, this game is highly overrated and I cannot believe David Gaider gets paid to write bad stories, still he is better than quite alot of other ”writers” in the ”industry”(doesn’t say much). This game will disappont if you were expecting Lord of the rings in video game form in terms of writing but of course, I never expected that so I wasn’t disappointed.

]]>
By: Evil Tactician http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/dragon-age-origins-review/#comment-1524 Sat, 06 Nov 2010 20:08:30 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=560#comment-1524 This game is absolutely *huge*. Absolutely love it.

]]>