Comments on: Dragon Age: Awakening Review http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/dragon-age-awakening-review/ Independent PC Game Reviews & Guides Mon, 14 Aug 2017 03:31:00 +0000 hourly 1 By: Evil Tactician http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/dragon-age-awakening-review/#comment-1542 Mon, 15 Nov 2010 11:51:47 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=561#comment-1542 That comment resulted from you being somewhat negative on most RPG articles that have been posted so far. Perhaps the wrong conclusion to make, but it’s definitely the impression you were giving. I didn’t state you are an RPG hater, I said you give the impression that you aren’t that keen on RPGs, which is why I am clarifying and trying to understand which RPGs you DO like. (Or what you are looking for in an RPG)

Fallout is a brilliant RPG, though the originals were a bit better than Fallout 3 was. (Fallout 3 was still very enjoyable nevertheless – don’t get me wrong there.) The original Fallout was just so different from most other RPGs out at the time that it really carved its own spot in the genre. It still had some flaws – but generally speaking it was great fun to play. And the perk system was fantastic.

I haven’t played New Vegas yet as that is supposed to go back a little more to the original roots than Fallout 3 did, but I rather play it once it has less bugs.

]]>
By: trebs http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/dragon-age-awakening-review/#comment-1541 Mon, 15 Nov 2010 11:35:27 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=561#comment-1541 You’re generalising because you typed ”I’ve read your replies on some of the best ones out there but you seem to dislike the genre as a whole?”

Yes, I dislike the genre as a whole cuz’ I say 4 rpgs are overrated. I’m an rpg hater.

But my favourite RPGs has to be fallout, I also liked Baldurs gate 2 quite abit as it improves on alot/everything – the best kind of sequel!

Also, does every opinion have to be ”constructive”? Only if you’re autistic, I say.

]]>
By: Evil Tactician http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/dragon-age-awakening-review/#comment-1540 Mon, 15 Nov 2010 10:55:47 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=561#comment-1540 @trebs – I think you completely got that wrong. I wasn’t generalising at all, I was genuinely interested in what RPGs you do like, since you don’t seem to like the ones that most people tend to rate highly.

We in fact welcome different opinions – we would even encourage them. Ideally though in a constructive form and the reason why I ask what RPGs you do like is to understand better where you are coming from with your opinions. Doesn’t mean I agree with them, but also doesn’t mean I am generalising or don’t like that you have a different opinion…

So, let’s try again – what are YOUR favourite RPGs?

]]>
By: trebs http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/dragon-age-awakening-review/#comment-1539 Mon, 15 Nov 2010 10:44:01 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=561#comment-1539 Yeah, I dislike the genre as a whole because I said 3 of your favourites to be overrated(meaning not worthy of its high amount of praise) and thinking that 4 rpgs are overrated totally makes me a hater of the hundreds of rpgs out there.

Lets see what i’ve said thats overrated..
Dragonage – it tries to be mature(sells itself as that), original and grimdark. Yet ends up as immature, run of the mill high fantasy.
Baldurs gate – Praised as Jesus in video game form(see hyperbole)
Awakening – an expansion pack for a hyped up game.
Torchlight(not even really an rpg) – another dungeon crawler brought to you by the failures behind Hellgate london

Perhaps if you didn’t generalise someone who didn’t have a different opinion from you(heavens! different opinions, on my website?!), perhaps you could work out what RPG I would like but you won’t, its just easier to generalise.

]]>
By: Evil Tactician http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/dragon-age-awakening-review/#comment-1538 Mon, 15 Nov 2010 09:23:36 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=561#comment-1538 Pity – I’ve come to expect a little bit more from BioWare.

]]>
By: Alratan http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/dragon-age-awakening-review/#comment-1537 Mon, 15 Nov 2010 09:14:48 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=561#comment-1537 @Evil Tactician: Nope. There are a bunch of player-made patches/mods that fix some of the bugs, but not nearly to the extent that is required to make it seem polished. It’s still worth playing despite the bugs, but it could have been much better.

]]>
By: Teronfel http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/dragon-age-awakening-review/#comment-1536 Sun, 14 Nov 2010 23:36:04 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=561#comment-1536 DA awakening was a good expansion IMO because it added some depth to the RP elements,like the choices you had to made,it had a good story and the same gameplay as DAO.

What i didn’t like was some characters and the fact that it had many bugs.It seemed like the game was not ready and devellopers needed more time.

]]>
By: Evil Tactician http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/dragon-age-awakening-review/#comment-1535 Sun, 14 Nov 2010 15:36:00 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=561#comment-1535 @trebs: What RPG do you like? I’ve read your replies on some of the best ones out there but you seem to dislike the genre as a whole?

I’d be interested to know which RPG you did things ‘right’.

]]>
By: trebs http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/dragon-age-awakening-review/#comment-1534 Sun, 14 Nov 2010 15:04:33 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=561#comment-1534 Another expansion for another RPG, don’t expect anything profound/exciting/challenging from this, not that vanilla dragonage is any of those.

]]>
By: Evil Tactician http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/dragon-age-awakening-review/#comment-1533 Fri, 12 Nov 2010 19:32:31 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=561#comment-1533 /me looks sadly at the pile of games that ‘have’ to be played through – with Awakening being stuck in the middle. (Note to self: Finish Dragon Age: Origins you lazy bum!)

I’d actually really like to play this, but so busy! Would like to borrow (read: acquire/steal) a good chunk of spare time from someone please! Or someone to magically finish my work queue!

@Alratan: Have subsequent Awakening patches not eridicated some of the bugs you’ve mentioned yet?

]]>