Comments on: Dragon Age 2 Review http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/dragon-age-2-review/ Independent PC Game Reviews & Guides Mon, 14 Aug 2017 03:31:00 +0000 hourly 1 By: Evil Tactician http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/dragon-age-2-review/#comment-1786 Mon, 18 Jun 2012 14:22:23 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=1731#comment-1786 I never bothered playing DA2 myself for 2 reasons:

1. Origin
2. James’ review

I never felt like I missed out, tbh.

]]>
By: Simon Kulberg http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/dragon-age-2-review/#comment-1785 Sat, 16 Jun 2012 18:36:07 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=1731#comment-1785 To me being able to give a meaningful review of this disgrace of a game is a sort of litmus test. Tons of sites gave DA2 top marks, despite the hopelessly linear and uninspiring beginning, terrain repetition, and the horrible inventory. I demand to at least have the option to micromanage if I want to, but no: we must all be dragged down to the lowest common denominator. Apparently some people don`t mind being treated as if they`re brain damaged though, so perhaps sentience is going out of fashion.
Played this miserable excuse of a game for about 3 hours before uninstalling it in disgust. Bioware also made it onto my list of untrustworthy game developers, where they`ll remain.
I`d bookmark this site for no other reason than this review, considering all the undeserved hype given to DA2 by the sites I had been using.

]]>
By: Matt http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/dragon-age-2-review/#comment-1784 Mon, 08 Aug 2011 17:28:22 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=1731#comment-1784 I agree with with a lot of things you said but I do have to disagree with a few things.

I played through the game and about 5 hours in I was thinking “Wow, what is my overall goal. where is this story taking me.” After about 10 more hours I realized that the entire story was “Hawke” and I loved it. The character I played was a humorous sarcastic character who a lot of times ended up being drug by her ear by Aveline to do some sort of good deed. The comment she would make now and again “What makes you think I’m the leader of this merry band of fools?” says a lot. I love that the story isn’t some all engrossing “hero saves the world” archetype. I can honestly say that out of all the bioware plots this is the most original. It isn’t original, I’ve seen it before, but its the least cliche out of all their games, even Kotor and Jade Empire the two biggest bioware games in my heart weren’t as original as this plot.

I also have to agree with what others have been saying. Though I loved alistair and hated morrigan (but was eventually swayed into liking her), they really aren’t that deep (I’d say Leliana is the deepest yet one of the more cliche characters). I’m not saying that the new characters are much deeper than the originals, but come on you can’t call a character like Anders shallow with a straight face. He has multiple layers of depth that come from his original personality, the spirit of Justice, and the new creation of vengeace all living as one in his body. It was executed quite well, though it could have used more screen time.

Good review otherwise

]]>
By: Guillermo http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/dragon-age-2-review/#comment-1783 Sun, 07 Aug 2011 10:33:08 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=1731#comment-1783 1 thing:

Charlie, it’s ok to have an opinion, but just out right say it as a fact pisse me off.

no deep characters in DAO? fucking idiot.

anyway, i agree with every single thing in this review.

]]>
By: Jenny http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/dragon-age-2-review/#comment-1782 Mon, 25 Apr 2011 12:19:00 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=1731#comment-1782 Everything you’ve said here is spot on, James. When I finished DA:O, I immeadiately wanted to go back and play the game again, to see a different side of the story – but I have yet to do that with DA2.

There were things I liked about DA2 – some of the humour was actually pretty funny – but I can’t motivate myself to play through that same set of stock level layouts over and over and over.. again.

I wish I’d waited for the Steam sales, to be honest. Don’t feel like I’ve had my moneys worth.

]]>
By: Lora http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/dragon-age-2-review/#comment-1781 Wed, 30 Mar 2011 14:26:56 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=1731#comment-1781 I didn’t find the companions worse than in DA:O at all and in many cases I preferred them, so I wouldn’t agree with the reviewer about that at all. I didn’t find them DA:O cast deeper at all. I agree that opportunities to interact with the new bunch were constrained and that felt like a step back. It would have felt more natural to initiate dialogue without being told to. Still, the companion quest cutscenes often had far more impact than those in DA:O and felt more ‘show’ rather than just ‘tell’.

The comments about being able to romance ‘anything’ and ‘all characters in this universe are now bisexual’ are just plain misleading. All potential love interests are bi (which IMO is a good thing – more choice for more players), but just like in DA:O four characters are potential love interests.

]]>
By: MGSdude http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/dragon-age-2-review/#comment-1780 Tue, 29 Mar 2011 17:27:16 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=1731#comment-1780 Hmmm I felt the story line in origins was vastly more superior than this, I felt kind of angry at the end of the game and shouting at my moniter “Is that it? Just a bloody excuse for me to buy the sequal is this a marketing ploy?!” The gameplay was okay just the plot was missing chunks, and to be honest as a sequal to a highly scored game, this was not good.

]]>
By: Robert http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/dragon-age-2-review/#comment-1779 Sat, 26 Mar 2011 14:39:04 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=1731#comment-1779 Dragon Age 2 was better than DA1 and heres the reasons, Graphically 2 is far superior yes the interaction with other characters was far fewer, but the reasons behind that was that in Origins you eventually run out of dialogue and the players repeat the same thing, at least in DA2 the interaction means something. The battle system is better than the first AI is easier to control and less stupid.

I enjoyed the stories behind the character’s they on a scale they would be on power with the previous game. However i agree with the map although much better laid out there was fewer places to go and less varied as some of the caves are repeated and this is noticeable.

Plus the Story is very easy to get immersed in if you don’t know what was going on then its clear that you weren’t paying attention through your playthroughs

]]>
By: Charle http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/dragon-age-2-review/#comment-1778 Sat, 26 Mar 2011 10:35:32 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=1731#comment-1778 I agree with every word you said. The game was far from perfect, and clearly needed more time, but I still had a fucking blast with it. I certainly can’t argue with complaints about the repetitive environments, for example, but many of the complaints don’t even make sense to me. It often seems like some of the people complaining haven’t even played the game.

In terms of character depth, this was so much better than DA:O. The characters are far more interesting than in the first game. Anders alone, by the end of the game, should provide more to think about than the entire cast of DA:O combined. Who exactly were these deep characters in DA:O? Perhaps somebody could remind me. As I recall, they all fit into neat little stereotypical boxes, and none of them change as the story progresses.

People complain about the story, too, but I’ll take what this had to offer over a generic “hero saves the world” story any day.

And when people say the combat is “ruined,” that’s when I really get confused.

I actually liked DA:O a lot, but this game really did fix a lot of its flaws. I will not go so far as to say that DA2 is better, but I think that if they’d taken more than a year with it, it would have been.

]]>
By: UKDude http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/dragon-age-2-review/#comment-1777 Sat, 26 Mar 2011 10:32:01 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=1731#comment-1777 Have to say, I preferred the depth of interaction in DA2, its more fluid.. This is obviously the first installment of a long line of “extort dollars from the fanbois” DLC as there *IS* some plot development, but it’s not quite finished.

The mirror, actually explained in morrigans DLC in DA1 has a role to play in DA2 as well.. The deep roads have plenty of room for expansion..

Yes the reuse of scenery was a bad call (at least dynamically change the assets BioWare) but character interaction (Minus the backstories which came out in some of the plot lines) was acceptable.

Elfin relationships are shown to be complex, The palidin like Captain of the guard has “relationship trouble”.. all of these are quite well executed.

not everyones cup of tea, but I went back and replayed DA1.. and I prefer DA2

]]>