Comments on: Cities in Motion Review http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/cities-in-motion-review/ Independent PC Game Reviews & Guides Mon, 14 Aug 2017 03:31:00 +0000 hourly 1 By: Lawrence Hung http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/cities-in-motion-review/#comment-1523 Sun, 20 May 2012 08:05:48 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=1385#comment-1523 I find it is hard to keep the energy cost down. I cannot figure out why. I have only a few electricity consumed by the trams. But the energy cost remains high to hurt my profit – resulting in net loss most of the time. Can anyone help and explain how the models work on the energy consumption?

]]>
By: legoman http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/cities-in-motion-review/#comment-1522 Sat, 25 Feb 2012 06:42:58 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=1385#comment-1522 could be ram,processor or graphics happened with me

]]>
By: Radu http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/cities-in-motion-review/#comment-1521 Thu, 21 Apr 2011 22:03:48 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=1385#comment-1521 for me, when I create a bus stop, or select an element on the map, the fps just goes down to 3-4. and the game becomes unplayable… I think it happens because of the picture in picture effect in the bottom right window. Does anyone know of a fix / patch etc? I didn’t find anything, but i did find others having this same issue. So pls help

]]>
By: Zyle http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/cities-in-motion-review/#comment-1520 Wed, 16 Feb 2011 19:17:14 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=1385#comment-1520 Aha, thanks for those hints guys! Definitely some work to do on either making the UI more friendly or improving the tutorial to point those things out as I didn’t find them after 20+ hours of poking around :/

“Another problem (in the beta) is that if there’s more than one route from A to B, a passenger will decide which one to use before walking to the stop at A and ignore the vehicles on the other route that serve the same destination.”
Yes I quite forgot to mention this – it’s very irritating to see them standing there getting angry when there is an empty bus on another line going the same way that they just ignore!

]]>
By: Dozer http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/cities-in-motion-review/#comment-1519 Wed, 16 Feb 2011 16:01:00 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=1385#comment-1519 If you select a vehicle, by finding it on the map and clicking on it, or selecting it in the ‘manage vehicles’ page of a particular line, or possibly by clicking on it on the vehicle roster page, a camera view of it appears in the bottom right corner. Click on the clipboard icon next to it, and you get stats on the vehicle, including its condition as a percentage!

]]>
By: Dozer http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/cities-in-motion-review/#comment-1518 Wed, 16 Feb 2011 01:01:51 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=1385#comment-1518 That’s the problem I’m having – passengers enter the station quicker than the line can take them away, partly because the trains are all somewhere else politely waiting for shuffling grannies instead of only taking the people who are ready to board when the train arrives. Hence, sea of red faces on the subways!

Another problem (in the beta) is that if there’s more than one route from A to B, a passenger will decide which one to use before walking to the stop at A and ignore the vehicles on the other route that serve the same destination.

]]>
By: Raph http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/cities-in-motion-review/#comment-1517 Tue, 15 Feb 2011 22:36:14 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=1385#comment-1517 Regarding whether a particular vehicle is profitable, I think you can see that in the “manage vehicles” window when you’re checking out a particular line. There, you can see expenses and income for each vehicle attached to the line. What you don’t see there, however, is upkeep for your stops.

This is coming from the beta though so I guess tihs might’ve changed in the full game.

]]>
By: Zyle http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/cities-in-motion-review/#comment-1516 Tue, 15 Feb 2011 20:41:12 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=1385#comment-1516 That’s pretty much what I was trying Dozer but when it looked as though it was connected it was red and wouldn’t let me build. I suspect the problem was that I was trying to make the transition over too short a space so the ramp became too steep, but there was no indication of how much distance you do need – if indeed that’s the problem.

I didn’t have that problem with the metro, but for my busy stations there were usually many more (rather red faced) people waiting there than could fit on the train! So I didn’t notice it, but I’m not entirely sure whether that means it’s fixed or not.

]]>
By: Dozer http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/cities-in-motion-review/#comment-1515 Tue, 15 Feb 2011 16:37:29 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=1385#comment-1515 I haven’t had problems linking metro tracks in the beta. If you’re linking tracks on two levels (say, the line you’re halfway through building, and a new metro station) it’s easiest to move the camera so you can see if you’re about to build track on the wrong level, move the Build cursor over one of the tracks (so the existing track section is highlighted – not a new track section at a different height) and drag over to the other section. If it doesn’t link up but looks like it should, build the track halfway across the gap then try to build the second half.

To get elevated tracks to go back down after rising over an obstacle: build new (unconnected) elevated tracks on the far side of the obstacle, then build backwards to the higher section.

Being unable to upgrade the stops is a major annoyance. In the beta, another big problem is that once a metro station starts to get busy, there’s a constant stream of people walking onto the platform one or two at a time. When the train arrives, all the waiting passengers get on, but the train gets stuck waiting for the people who’ve just walked onto the platform to get on too. Because there’s no gaps in the stream of incoming passengers, the train can’t leave until it’s full, even if there’s more trains stuck behind it waiting to get into the station. Did they fix this bug in the release version?

]]>