Comments on: Baldur’s Gate Review http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/baldurs-gate-review/ Independent PC Game Reviews & Guides Mon, 14 Aug 2017 03:31:00 +0000 hourly 1 By: Simon Kulberg http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/baldurs-gate-review/#comment-1476 Sat, 16 Jun 2012 19:09:44 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=363#comment-1476 Should have mentioned the Morrowind series of course, but then they`re almost too open. Though I somehow don`t get the same thrill of exploring in those games for some reason. Don`t know why, since I`m usually loathe to have a single black spot on my maps.

]]>
By: Simon Kulberg http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/baldurs-gate-review/#comment-1475 Sat, 16 Jun 2012 19:06:16 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=363#comment-1475 I don`t think it`s unpolished at all. It just assumes that the player has the brains to be careful, read text, scout etc, instead of barging mindlessly in. I can`t see why it should be a problem that things can one-shot you, especially since it`s an open- ended world where you can get to areas much too hard for you very quickly indeed if you walk the wrong way. Personally, I miss this freedom in games, which apart from BG and WoW you rarely get in most rpgs, since there usually needs to be walls between the retarded player and any possible source of frustration. Or so it seems.
It`s a bit aged, and I never much cared for the city of Baldur`s Gate itself for some reason, but no fan of rpgs should miss this. And although BG2 is better in almost every way, they did close it down to make it more linear, which is I think the only flaw the sequel has, apart from not having Kagain available (as far as I can recall). If BG2 was open to exploration like BG was it would have been my all time favorite game, but since it isn`t I`ll vote for Homeworld or Fallout, depending on genre.

]]>
By: pizzapicante27 http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/baldurs-gate-review/#comment-1474 Mon, 04 Jul 2011 21:41:49 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=363#comment-1474 This game really is not my cup of tea, its a really good game but it assumes you know D&D lore and rules beforehand, that can be problematic, in one instance I repeated a mission 7 times because I had no idea I could revive someone, in another a basilisc wiped uot my entire party after petrifying it because I didnt use my psychic powers to know that they had a one-hit-kill ability, on another ocassion I had to wait to the final boss battle to know who my real father was because I didnt phsychycally knew to not go with the boss, go upstairs, search a room I had never been before and find a scroll detailing my birth, little things like that ruined this and the second game for me.
Still its true its at its core a really good game, just umpolished by today standards or maybe more like with different standards altoghether.

]]>
By: Top 10 Best Retro RPGs on the PC - Best PC Gaming RPGs http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/baldurs-gate-review/#comment-1473 Wed, 01 Dec 2010 13:00:59 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=363#comment-1473 [...] Baldur’s Gate (Review) [...]

]]>
By: Trebs http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/baldurs-gate-review/#comment-1472 Tue, 09 Nov 2010 04:05:34 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=363#comment-1472 Baldurs gate is abit lack luster to be honest, it’s definately an ‘inferior’ game to it’s sequel imo.

The npcs that follow you around barely have a personality beyond basic backstory and a few phrases whilst in the sequel, the npcs(whilst not so many of them) have much more of a personality(they interject in conversations, will actually talk about stuff and have sub-plots relating to them)

The plot is odvious, you know who causing all the ills of the land and its just stop the bad guy from causing some terrible, terrible damage to you and everybody else.

The combat is very repetitive, there are of course, a few exceptions(if you do the final boss the non-cheesy way for example). It’s mostly just entangling roots/web and sleep and there are spells which summon armies of creatures to hold back/overwhelm opponents(very cheesy). The early game is quite notorious for those that rage easily, as quite a few creatures can one shot you but this can be countered of course (root + ranged characters).

]]>
By: sorry http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/baldurs-gate-review/#comment-1471 Sat, 30 Oct 2010 21:11:21 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=363#comment-1471 i never played bg1… but my 1st rpg was bg2. i was still kid like 6y old went through the market and saw pirate game stand… ech what a hell took 1st most flashy and… it was expansion throne of bhaal lol. later got full game. it was my 1st and best rpg ever. (played solo as ranger/stalker)
at the moment i still have that game in my pc. no doubt best rpg ever. Even now i name my characters in other rpgs Bhaal, Sarevoc, Irenicus. All these memories… best childhood ever:D

]]>
By: Omegastar http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/baldurs-gate-review/#comment-1470 Fri, 29 Oct 2010 18:49:28 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=363#comment-1470 Minsc will lead with blade and boot! Boo will take care of the details.

]]>
By: Thinkpadius http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/baldurs-gate-review/#comment-1469 Fri, 29 Oct 2010 18:22:54 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=363#comment-1469 I loved the series. Only Morrowind has come close to it since then. The Fallout series was great too. But BG 1 & 2+ were some amazing storytelling, with the perfect assortment of side/fetch quests and items that you will never find again. Nowadays the best you can hope for is randomly generated rare items in an RPG. (Diablo etc.)

]]>
By: Zyle http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/baldurs-gate-review/#comment-1468 Fri, 29 Oct 2010 16:14:56 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=363#comment-1468 Ahhh sweet nostalgia! BG is still an extremely playable game and I’m looking forward to the modding article as it’s about time I have a re-play. I’ve not done much in the way of modding it in the past (besides adding my own custom character portraits if that counts?!)

]]>
By: Evil Tactician http://www.manapool.co.uk/review/baldurs-gate-review/#comment-1467 Fri, 29 Oct 2010 10:59:10 +0000 http://www.manapool.co.uk/?post_type=review&p=363#comment-1467 Baldur’s Gate is awesome and there should be absolutely no reason not to have played it. In fact, I would go as far to say that if you have not experienced the awesomeness of this game, you haven’t experienced the RPG genre.

It’s an absolute MUST play even if it is only to understand the genre and how modern games like Drakensang, Dragon Age: Origins, etc. have developed.

]]>